Baby-led weaning with Max

I’m a terrible blogger, I haven’t even blogged about the fact I had another child…

Max was born on 21st April this year. A quick and simple labour that couldn’t have been more different from the long, protracted experience I had with Seth. Since then, we’ve embraced a little attachment theory and have been exclusively breastfeeding, mainly babywearing and often bedsharing. It’s been hard, juggling two under two but exhilarating all the same.

Max is now 30 weeks and we started baby-led weaning with him at around 24 weeks. I know officially the guidelines say 26 weeks but we started Seth at 25 and Max was a week late by his due date so we’re even stevens. Besides, it’s not like every baby has an internal biological clock that says “hey, I’m exactly 26 weeks old and my gut matured overnight” right?

The very first thing we tried him with was a stick of cucumber because it’s the most inane salad vegetable going, I didn’t think he’d be able to get anything off of it because it’s rock solid and he was being a giant pain in the arse during dinner so I wanted to keep him quiet.

He bloody loved it and ended up taking two massive chunks out of it. We don’t have any photos because Max is a poor, neglected second child and we are terrible parents who suck at remembering to document milestones this time around. Seth’s first solids we filmed with a DSLR camera neatly balanced on a nearby window sill with a fanfare playing in the background. Max, not so much. Hey, I remembered what he ate at least.

We kept it really simple for a couple of weeks because I just wasn’t ready mentally for the faff that weaning brings. Neither was I ready to admit that he was no longer going to be reliant on me for all his nutritional needs. At 26 weeks we took a little trip away for a few days (Hull in case you’re interested – all kinds of glamour up in here) and whilst away we went back to exclusively breastfeeding. We ate out every day so it would have been a lot of effort and we wanted to focus on Seth as it was around his 2nd birthday. It worked out well as Max had been a little bit constipated, despite just having had cucumber, broccoli and sweet potato so it gave his belly a bit of a rest.

Since we got back, normal service is resumed and, like his brother, he eats with gusto. Just a few weeks in, he totally ‘gets’ it and is happy to give absolutely anything a go. He has had normal stuff like porridge, toast, avocado, green beans etc as well as slightly more adventurous meals like pasta bolognese, chicken pie and tonight devoured lentil dahl with naan bread.

IMG_0266

I’m the kind of parent who doesn’t object to launching in at the deep end so whilst I know a lot of people who would carefully introduce foods once every few days, keeping meals bland and simple, that’s just not the way we roll in this house. He’s been breastfed all his life so any food sensitivities would have shown up by now through my diet and I truly believe that this is the age that children should be exposed to as many tastes and flavours as possible. Definitely before they can start to turn their nose up at it. And even if he does, who cares? I didn’t like broccoli until I was 21 and hated bananas until I was much older so I am cynical of the whole “your baby must try everything around 12.35 times before they decide if they like it”. It’s not as complicated as that. I feel that this particular subject could warrant a blog post all of it’s own so I’ll leave it for now and jump down off my soap box.

Safe to say that, thankfully, baby-led weaning has taken off again in our house and it makes me burst with pride to see my two boys sitting next to each other, sharing a meal. It changed the way I approached parenting for the better with Seth and my approach is being re-affirmed with Max all over again.

Follow me on Instagram @feedingsunshine for lots of pictures of Max and Seth enjoying their food!

About Kelly

Gently stay-at-home mum of two boys.
This entry was posted in baby led weaning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

