De-cluttering: KonMari style part I

I know this blog was originally intended to be about baby-led weaning but there’s only so much “look how much sweet potato Max ate” that I can write about before it gets boring. So I’m going to digress, okay? Good.

Since Max was born, our lives have become even more busy, complicated and full than ever before. We now have a stroller in the hall, Max’s car seat, several slings and baby carriers and a whole host of toys that we’d packed away only a year before. I’m not saying the place was pristine when it was just the three of us, far from it, but with two boys and a lot less free time to tidy, I find myself struggling to keep on top of the mess.

I’ve also found myself at a bit of a crossroads in my life. I’m a stay-at-home mum and that’s great for now but I know that I do eventually want to go back to work but I don’t want to go back to what I was doing before (business analyst, yawn). What I do want to do remains to be discovered but I am keen to use this time in my life to explore it properly and make a proper, once-in-a-lifetime type of decision.

The thing is, I’m struggling to conjure up the mental energy to really start researching my options. I find myself unable to relax in the evenings, my attention veers wildly whenever I try to sit down and concentrate and inevitably, I end up just going to bed. D and I are starting to have some serious conversations about what the next 12 months might look like for us so I need to focus, because it’s all interlinked.

It hit me the other day that the reason I feel stressed and uneasy in the evenings is because I feel like I should be tidying and cleaning up after the detritus left behind by the boys that day and I mean all three of them, not just the babies. Yet, no matter how much I clean and tidy I just can’t stay on top of it. Looking around me, all I can see is ‘stuff’. Not just toys but serious ‘stuff’. Phone chargers, washing, loose change, birthday cards yet to be sent, bank statements etc etc etc. It’s never ending.

I remembered reading about Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying on several blogs that I follow a while ago and found myself ordering it. I think divine intervention may have played a part in this because it describes exactly how I’m feeling about my house and belongings and is offering me a solution that is too tempting to ignore.

konmari

Kondo subscribes to the belief that we all have far too many possessions and far from being ok, it can interfere with our lives in a much more significant way than we may realise. Being surrounded by so many things creates mindless ‘noise’ that prevents us from being able to think clearly and can actually stop us from realising goals. Hanging on to things from our distant past can leave us feeling guilty and disappointed and these feelings seep into our subconscious.

It all rings very true to me.

Having so many things on a practical level means that it makes it difficult for me to get out of the house efficiently with the boys in the morning. But on a more emotional level, climbing over shoes and boots just to get at the buggy or sling makes me irritable and they pick up on this. Seth gets immediately antsy when we get ready to leave the house and I’ve always attributed it to him being impatient by nature, but what if he’s picking up on me huffing and puffing because I can’t find my keys AGAIN and have had to go back in to the house from the car five times because nothing I need is kept in the same place and I keep forgetting things?

I’ve embarked on a once-and-for-all mass de-cluttering and organising mission which I’m keen to document so that I can hopefully see some progress.

It must be working already right? I’ve started to blog again…;)

Attempted the KonMari method? Get in touch, I’d love to hear from you.

About Kelly

Gently stay-at-home mum of two boys.
This entry was posted in konmari, lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

