KonMari method: progress so far…

I thought it might be good to do a little update on what categories we have tackled so far and what our experience has been of the process.

As a reminder, Marie Kondo’s book suggests a radical approach to tidying and decluttering that promises to change the way you look at your possessions forever. She invites you to only keep that which ‘sparks joy’. She also suggests that the most efficient way to tackle your belongings is to tidy by category, not by room.

You might notice that I’m saying ‘we’ instead of ‘I’. That is because D has been fab at getting stuck in with the purge. Initially I think he was sceptical about the severity of what I was proposing, especially when he saw the teeny tiny amount of clothes I’d scaled back to; but I think he’s warmed to it. He even instigated a cleanse of his own wardrobe!

So far we’ve tackled clothes, bed linen and towels, jewellery and accessories, papers, books, CDs and DVDs. It’s taken a while as we’ve had Christmas in-between but now we are in to the New Year I’m eager to get started again.

I originally wrote this post to cover all of those things but it got a bit out of hand so I’ve split it in to two. This post I’ll cover how we de-cluttered clothes, bed linen and towels and the accessories side of things!

Clothes

My clothes purge was LONG overdue. My style has changed a lot over the years and in all that time, I was a worker. Now I’m a stay-at-home mum and I could guarantee you that I was probably only wearing a total of about 30 items of clothing in various combinations. That’s a lot less than I had in my wardrobe!

I invited my best friends over for a night of wardrobe ridicule and they arrived eager and curious. I would highly recommend getting your friends involved in this as it not only made for a fun (if slightly quirky) evening of fun, but they can look at your clothing objectively and will most likely have a different style to you that means they will see outfit combinations that you never would have dreamed of.

I scaled back to 37 items of clothes, coats and shoes (inspired by the UnFancy blog about capsule wardobes) and two months later, there are still items of clothing that I haven’t worn.

IMG_0248

All in all I’ve made nearly £200 from clothes I’ve sold on eBay and taken SEVEN bags of clothes to the recycling bins.

IMG_0442

Bed linen and towels

We don’t have much of either of these things to be honest so this wasn’t difficult. We had one set of bedding that both of us hated so much it sparked joy just to ditch it and a few novelty towels that we’d been given as joke gifts also hit the bins. I think we discarded about three bags full (all recycled).

I don’t have any pictures of this because, quite frankly, it was easy and boring!

It all went in the recycling bin 🙂

Jewellery

I’m not a massive jewellery wearer so again, there wasn’t much to purge here. Anything I couldn’t place the origin of went. I’ve kept my watch, a few necklaces that D gave me, my wedding jewellery and a couple of other bits. Everything else has gone to the charity shop.

 

In the next post I’ll talk about getting rid of all of our papers, books, CDs and DVDs!

About Kelly

Gently stay-at-home mum of two boys.
This entry was posted in konmari, lifestyle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

